If you are charged with assault in the state of Missouri you are faced with charges that range in severity from a misdemeanor to the most serious of crimes, a Class A felony. The term assault covers a host of criminal behavior including simple threats of physical violence without actually touching the victim to the attempted killing of another causing serious bodily injury. If you are charged with Assualt, our assault defense attorneys can help. You need to know your options.
Because of the severity of these crimes it is imperative to speak with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. You may have a valid defense to the charges against you or you may have even been wrongly accused, acted in self-defense, or in defense of others or property. In any assault case, it is important to contact a criminal defense attorney right away.
Assault in the First, Second, Third, or Fourth Degree in Missouri
Know that any time you are charged with a crime, the state must prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. To obtain a conviction for assault in Missouri the state must show that you attempted to kill; or cause, or attempted to cause, serious physical injury to another person.
Assault can be categorized as first, second, third, or fourth degree assault and the punishments vary greatly.
- First degree assault is a Class B felony and conviction can mean 5-15 year in prison.
- Second degree assault is a Class D felony and, if convicted, will result in prison time up to seven years and fines up to $10,000.
- Assault in the third degree is a Class E felony which can result in prison time of up to 4 years and up to $10,000 in fines.
- Fourth degree assault is a Class A Misdemeanor. Even a misdemeanor, however, can mean jail time of up to one year and fines of up to $1,000.
Special Victims in Assault Crimes
If the assault crime involved a special victim, you face more severe penalties. For example, a first degree assault is a Class B felony except when the assault involved a special victim in which case the charge becomes a Class A felony. Examples of special victims include:
- A law enforcement officer performing official duties
- Emergency personnel while in the performance of official duties
- An elderly individual
- An individual with disabilities
- A highway worker in a construction zone
Domestic Assault Crimes
Domestic assault in Missouri is assault that involves a “domestic victim” or household or family member, including children. Domestic assault is a separate crime from assault and can also be in the first, second, third, or fourth degree. If convicted of these crimes, you may lose other liberties as a felon.
Contact the Experienced Attorneys at the KC Defense Counsel
Any one of these charges can have serious consequences for your life and your future. This is not a minor crime. They should not be taken lightly. Contact the attorneys at the KC Defense Counsel for a free consultation to discuss your criminal defense case. A qualified attorney can help you navigate the often-confusing legal world, discuss any possible legal defenses, negotiate a plea deal, or zealously fight for your rights in the courtroom.
- Criminal Law Firm Of The Year
- KC Defense Counsel Media
- Applying Miranda Rights
- Missouri Supreme Court Update
- Right To A Speedy Trial