Understand Nebraska “Personal Injury Attorney”: Wrongful Death OR Car Accident – Guest Post

Personal Injury Attorney

Understanding a Nebraska personal injury lawsuit is time-consuming. The entire process of litigating can be difficult, especially when dealing with a major car accident. It’s all about making sense of the accident, determining your rights and choosing the correct lawyer.

We recommend that you must contact a local law office for more information. But you can prepare for your initial consultation by first reading up on the topic.

This is why we wrote this article to guide you in making the best choices for the future.

“Personal Injury Lawsuit” Duration and Process

The initial step in any civil lawsuit is the filing of the accusation. The complaint will lay out the jurisdiction, parties, and claims that form the basis for the action. A Nebraska court will issue a summons once a complaint is filed.

Personal Injury Attorney

Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations is a regulation that establishes a deadline for bringing a civil lawsuit to court. There are several deadlines for different types of cases. According to Nebraska law, there is a 4-year time limit on bringing personal injury lawsuits in the country’s civil courts.

It’s important to take note of Nebraska’s 4-year deadline because if you attempt to submit your lawsuit after that period has passed, the court will decline to hear it, and you’ll lose your chance to receive compensation for the harm you suffered.

Nebraska Revised Statutes, Section 25-207 contains the complete language of the state’s injury statute of limitations.

The lengthy discovery procedure starts after the initial rounds of replies and responses. Each side has the right to submit discovery requests for records, demand depositions, and submit motions to gather all the evidence they require to build an argument.

A case may proceed to trial if it makes it through the motions and discovery processes. But, several other dispute resolution procedures can be used in the interval, including mediation and settlement conferences. These take place to resolve the conflict.

Remember that 95% of cases are concluded without a trial. If a settlement cannot be reached, the case will proceed to trial, where the judge’s decision will decide the outcome. A case may take years to resolve if none of these procedures are completed on time.

Personal Injury Attorney

Time Limits for Certain Damages Claims

  • Car accidents – 4 years
  • Product liability – 4 years
  • Slip and fall – 4 years
  • Wrongful death – 2 years
  • Work injuries – 2 years
  • Medical malpractice – 2 years after the occurrence or o1 year after the injury has been identified.
  • Dog bites/animals attacks – 4 years

Cases of “Wrongful Death” in Nebraska

In Nebraska, a person can file a wrongful death lawsuit if the death was caused by someone else’s actions, whether done accidentally or intentionally.

This Section will discuss the legal aspects of a wrongful death lawsuit in Nebraska and who can submit a claim for wrongful death. Wrongful death lawsuits, like other personal injury claims, can be based on a wide range of events or actions, such as:

Personal Injury Attorney

  • Accidents involving negligence, such as car accidents
  • Medical negligence
  • Illnesses or injuries brought on by poor items
  • Pre-planned behaviors, such as crimes

Potential Damages in Nebraska Wrongful Death Cases

If the complainant in a wrongful death lawsuit prevails in court, the defendant must pay “damages,” or the amount the complainant claims they lost due to the decedent’s death. In Nebraska, the surviving spouse of the deceased person will get damages.

In a wrongful death case in Nebraska, damages may include payment for the following kinds of losses:

  • Affordable costs for a funeral and burial.
  • Medical costs associated with the terminal illness or injury of the deceased.
  • Anything the dead would have given the family in the way of financial support.
  • The absence of the deceased’s care, company, and comfort.
  • Lost value of work done around the house by the deceased.

“Car Accident Lawsuit” in Nebraska

The statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit following a car accident in Nebraska is mentioned in Nebraska Revised Law 25-207. The civil suit in a state court under this Section is 4 years for most cases involving injury to persons or their property.

So, in the case of a car accident, any lawsuit for injuries or damage to a car or other property must be filed within 4 years. This requirement applies to any lawsuit brought by a driver, motorcyclist, bicyclist, scooter rider, or property owner.

According to Revised Statute 30-810, a wrongful death claim must be filed within 2 years of the decedent’s death to be considered by the court.

Personal Injury Attorney

Nebraska Car Accident Cases: Comparative Negligence

Let’s say you decide to go to court after being critically hurt in a car accident in Nebraska. After hearing both sides of the story, the jury finds that the second party was responsible for the incident but that you are also to blame.

Then, what will happen? Exactly how does this decision influence your eligibility for compensation?

Nebraska uses a “modified comparative negligence” criterion outlined in Section 25-21,185.09 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. You can still file a claim for damages after a car accident, but the amount you receive will be very less by your percentage of fault in the incident.

If you are found “equal in carelessness to, or more negligent, ” you will be banned from receiving compensation from the court.

Personal Injury Attorney

Final Verdict – Seek Legal Help Immediately

Cases involving wrongful death or personal injury can be challenging, and law modifications can always be done.

It’s a good idea to speak with a knowledgeable personal injury attorney in Nebraska if you’re thinking about filing a wrongful death claim so they can clarify how the law might relate to your particular circumstance.